Best 3-Pin EV Chargers UK (2026)
A 3-pin “granny” charger plugs your car into a normal socket: about 2.3 kW at 10 A, or 7 to 9 miles of range an hour. Our top pick is the dé EV Charger 3 Pin Plug 10m with App: its listing states a Type A RCD, and you can control it from the unit or an app.
See the ComparisonDisclosure: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The price you pay is the same. Chargers are ranked on stated protection, features and price, not commission.
Quick Answer: Which 3-Pin EV Charger Should You Buy?
For most people, the dé EV Charger 3 Pin Plug 10m with App. Its listing states a Type A RCD with 6 mA DC detection, and you can set the current (6 to 13 A) and a delay timer on the unit or in an app. If you want a UK brand sold by Amazon, the Masterplug Mode 2 EV Charging Cable, 10 m lists the most protection, including PEN faults, but tops out at 10 A. The G-Journey EV Charger 3 Pin Plug, 10 m is the budget choice with a stated Type A RCD.
Whichever you buy, charge at 10 A for regular use, plug straight into a wall socket (never an extension lead) and have the socket checked by an electrician. Below: the six chargers compared, how fast and how cheap 3-pin charging is, and the safety checks.
Best Overall
dé EV Charger 3 Pin Plug 10m with App: Type A RCD stated, app or button control
View on AmazonBest UK Brand
Masterplug Mode 2 EV Charging Cable, 10 m: sold by Amazon, fullest protection list
View on AmazonRunner-Up
EzGoGo EV Charger 3 Pin Plug, 10 m: 13 A option, 1 to 12 hour schedule, 2-year guarantee
View on AmazonHow We Chose These
We searched Amazon UK for Type 2 to 3-pin chargers and kept those in stock, rated 4.0 stars or more from at least 50 owner ratings, and sold by the brand or by Amazon (25 September 2026). We then ranked on what the listing states about protection (a Type A RCD with 6 mA DC detection counts most), features, owner reviews and price. Prices come from Amazon and are updated twice a day.
We haven't tested these chargers. Specs are the sellers' own listing text. Where a listing doesn't state the RCD type, we say so. The price at checkout is what applies.
2.3 kW
At 10 A
Regular overnight use
7–9 miles
Range per hour
At 10 A
£6.05
10-hour charge
At 26.32p/kWh
None
Installation
Plugs into a socket
3-Pin EV Charger Comparison
| Charger | Current | RCD (as listed) | Cable | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| dé EV Charger 3 Pin Plug 10m with App | 6 / 8 / 10 / 13 Aup to 3 kW | Type A (30 mA) with 6 mA DC detection | 10 m | £122.95 | Amazon |
| Masterplug Mode 2 EV Charging Cable, 10 m | 6 / 8 / 10 Aup to 2.4 kW | 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC | 10 m | £129.99 | Amazon |
| EzGoGo EV Charger 3 Pin Plug, 10 m | 6 / 8 / 10 / 13 Aup to 3 kW | Not stated | 10 m | £119.99 | Amazon |
| G-Journey EV Charger 3 Pin Plug, 10 m | 6 / 8 / 10 Aup to 2.3 kW | Type A (30 mA AC) with 6 mA DC detection | 10 m | £99.99 | Amazon |
| Ampwerk EV Charger Type 2 to 3 Pin, 10 m | 10 A fixedup to 2.3 kW | Not stated | 10 m | £109.95 | Amazon |
| ChargeHere Portable EV Charger, 8 m | 6 / 8 / 10 / 13 Aup to 3 kW | Not stated | 8 m | £94.99 | Amazon |
Amazon prices as of 25 Sept 2026, 02:30 UTC. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change.
The Six Chargers
dé EV Charger 3 Pin Plug 10m with App
Best overall: stated Type A RCD, app or button control
Current
6 / 8 / 10 / 13 A
Weather rating
IP66 control box, IP54 connector
Timer
0.5 to 8 hour delay, plus app scheduling
Warranty
Not stated
Pros
- Listing states a Type A RCD with 6 mA DC detection
- Set the current and a delay timer on the unit, or schedule from the Tuya / Smart Life app
- IP66 control box and IP54 connector
- Wall bracket, cable holder, rain cover and bag included
Cons
- The app needs a Tuya / Smart Life account; the buttons work without it
- No warranty length stated in the listing
Masterplug Mode 2 EV Charging Cable, 10 m
Best UK brand: sold by Amazon, the fullest protection list
Current
6 / 8 / 10 A
Weather rating
IP66 connected, IP65 with end cap
Timer
Delay charging
Warranty
1 year
Pros
- Sold and dispatched by Amazon
- Lists 30 mA AC and 6 mA DC RCD, PEN fault, over/under voltage and thermal overload protection: the only listing here that mentions PEN-fault protection
- Capped at 10 A "as per UK EV standards and regulations", the setting for regular overnight use
- LCD shows charging rate and energy delivered
Cons
- Slowest here at 2.4 kW: no 13 A setting
- Shortest warranty here (1 year)
EzGoGo EV Charger 3 Pin Plug, 10 m
Runner-up: 13 A option, 1 to 12 hour schedule, 2-year guarantee
Current
6 / 8 / 10 / 13 A
Weather rating
IP65
Timer
1 to 12 hour schedule
Warranty
2 years
Pros
- 13 A for occasional faster charging, 10 A or 8 A for regular use, as the listing itself advises
- LCD display and a 1 to 12 hour schedule for off-peak charging
- 2-year guarantee
Cons
- The listing does not state the RCD type
- IP65, a step below the dé and Masterplug control boxes
G-Journey EV Charger 3 Pin Plug, 10 m
Budget pick with a stated Type A RCD
Current
6 / 8 / 10 A
Weather rating
IP65
Timer
0 to 12 hour delay
Warranty
2 years
Pros
- A budget charger whose listing states a Type A RCD with 6 mA DC detection
- Tops out at 10 A, so it suits a standard socket for regular use
- Two rain covers, bag and cable holder included; 2-year warranty
Cons
- Plainer unit: IP65, no app
- No 13 A setting
Ampwerk EV Charger Type 2 to 3 Pin, 10 m
Simplest: fixed 10 A, no app, no settings to get wrong
Current
10 A fixed
Weather rating
IP65
Timer
2 to 8 hour timer
Warranty
2 years
Pros
- Fixed at 10 A (2.3 kW), so nobody in the house can switch it to 13 A
- 2 to 8 hour timer for overnight or off-peak charging
- UK-designed brand with UK support and a 2-year warranty
Cons
- The listing does not state the RCD type
- No lower current setting for a weak circuit
ChargeHere Portable EV Charger, 8 m
Best weather rating: IP67 control box
Current
6 / 8 / 10 / 13 A
Weather rating
IP67
Timer
Delay timer
Warranty
Not stated
Pros
- IP67 control box, the highest weather rating here
- LCD shows current, voltage, energy, temperature and fault codes
Cons
- The listing does not state the RCD type
- 8 m cable, shorter than the others
- No warranty length stated in the listing
How Fast and How Cheap Is 3-Pin Charging?
Power is volts times amps: at 230 V, 10 A gives 2.3 kW. Range per hour depends on the car; the table assumes 3 to 4 miles per kWh. Cost uses the Ofgem price cap unit rate from 1 October 2026 (26.32p/kWh). All figures are our arithmetic and leave out charging losses, which add a little.
| Setting | Power | Range per hour | Hours for 100 miles | Cost per hour |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 A | 1.8 kW | 6 to 7 miles | 14 to 18 hours | 48p |
| 10 A | 2.3 kW | 7 to 9 miles | 11 to 14 hours | 61p |
| 13 A | 3.0 kW | 9 to 12 miles | 8 to 11 hours | 79p |
A 10-hour overnight charge at 10 A adds about 70 to 90 miles for £6.05. On a time-of-use tariff with a cheap overnight window, use the charger's timer to start when the cheap rate begins.
Using a 3-Pin Charger Safely
1. Have the socket and circuit checked
Electrical Safety First: “The extended load and duration of charging an EV are likely to exceed what a standard socket-outlet and standard wiring is designed for.” Ask an electrician to check the socket you'll use before you charge regularly.
2. Best of all: an 'EV' socket on its own circuit
The IET wiring regulations require installed EV charging sockets to meet BS 1363-2 and be marked ‘EV’ on the back; they are tested with a harder load than a normal socket. Electrical Safety First says they should be supplied by dedicated circuits.
3. Use 10 A for regular charging
Masterplug caps its charger at 10 A “as per UK EV standards and regulations”, and EzGoGo's listing keeps 13 A for occasional faster charging. If the plug or socket ever feels hot, stop and have it checked.
4. Plug straight into a wall socket
No extension leads or adaptors. If the car is too far away, buy a longer cable or have an outdoor socket fitted by an electrician.
5. Look for a stated Type A RCD with 6 mA DC detection
The wiring regulations require installed EV charge points to have a 30 mA RCD and protection against DC fault current of 6 mA or more (IET Wiring Matters), because DC leakage can stop an ordinary RCD from tripping. Three chargers here state the same protection in their listings: the dé, Masterplug and G-Journey.
6. Check the cable
Electrical Safety First: check your charging cable regularly for damage, and if there is any, stop using it.
A 3-pin charger is for occasional or light daily use. Electrical Safety First says the safest way to charge at home is a dedicated charge point, installed by a registered and competent electrician.
3-Pin Charger or Wallbox?
3-pin charger
No installation, 2.3 kW at 10 A. Enough if you drive under about 70 to 90 miles a day and charge every night, and worth keeping in the car for trips.
Installed wallbox
7 kW on a normal home supply, about three times faster, fitted by an electrician. 11 or 22 kW needs a 3-phase supply.
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Related Guides
Charging Every Day? Compare Installed Chargers
A wallbox charges several times faster than a 3-pin plug and is built for the load. See what the fastest home chargers cost and what your supply can take.
22kW Charger Guide